The Laser Blast Film Society Presents: Dangerous Men

When: November 11, 2015 @ 7:30 p.m.

  • PRE-SHOW: 7:30 p.m.
  • FEATURE: 8:00 p.m.

Where: The Royal Cinema, 608 College Street, Toronto, ON

Dir. John Rad
Cast: Michael Gradilone, Roya Saghafy, Melody Wiggins
Runtime: 80 min
Country: USA
Screening Format: DCP

"Dangerous Men is a majestic piece of cinematic lunacy gleefully unhinged from the basic rules of storytelling." - Geek Tyrant

"It's the singular vision of a dogged outsider artist, and also a glimpse into the mind of someone who has a truly, deeply bizarre view of humanity." - Birth Movies Death

The Laser Blast Film Society and Drafthouse Films are proud to present another entry into the pantheon of WTF-am-i-watching, rescued like MIAMI CONNECTION, from the depths of obscurity and between the cracks of conventions, aesthetics and taste.

The brain-product of Iranian filmmaker John S. Rad, preceding the footsteps of Amir Shervan's immortal SAMURAI COP, DANGEROUS MEN was conceived in 1979 and took 26 years to reach silver screens in 2005 (all four of them in LA).

The result is among the most baffling films you will ever see, and thanks to curatorial prowess of Drafthouse Film and the exhaustive restoration work of the American Genre Film Archive, this opportunity for sublime bafflement can be yours to experience. 

As if directed by Guy Pearce's amnesiac from Memento, the film is a non-stop barrage of hysterically arbitrary subplots, and absurd action all set to a soundtrack that sounds part CAPCOM side-scroller, part 'someone-left-a-CASIO-keyboard-on-demo-mode-again".

The delirium compounds with every scene, shedding all manner of eccentric characters as it goes, from a vengeful fiancé to a bonkers biker-punk composite named BLACK PEPPER, and when it reaches the gob-smacking conclusion, you'll be left with two thoughts: "John Rad took 26 years to make this?!?" and "Bless John Rad."

The Laser Blast Film Society is made possible in part by the funding support from the Ontario Arts Council, an agency of the Government of Ontario.